The Midwife Trilogy: Call the Midwife, Shadows of the Workhouse, Farewell to the East End Book

The bestselling CALL THE MIDWIFE series, together in an omnibus edition for the first time.Read More

Visit Cheapest Shop from£6.99 | RRP: £14.99
* Excludes Voucher Code Discount Also available Used from £7.89
  • Play

    This omnibus edition of Call the Midwife Shadows of the Workhouse and Farewell to the East End chronicles Jennifer Worth's career as a midwife from start to finish from her arrival in the war-scarred Docklands as a wide-eyed trainee to the demolition of the tenements and subsequent closure of Nonnatus House. It provides a fascinating snapshot of social history documenting the East End in the days when there was a real sense of community when times were tough but there was plenty of good humour and neighbourly support to help the inhabitants through the harsh econonic climate. The book also enables readers to follow Jennifer's personal story as she discovers the amazing resilience of a population still bearing the scars of war and the vibrant community of nuns with whom she lives and who teach her the skills of midwifery. In stories that are funny disturbing and moving in equal measure we meet prostitutes and abortionists bigamists and mischievous nuns and see Jennifer earn the confidence of people whose lives are often stranger than fiction.

  • 0297859641
  • 9780297859642
  • Jennifer Worth
  • 21 January 2010
  • W&N
  • Paperback (Book)
  • 768

Would you like your name to appear with the review?

We will post your book review within a day or so as long as it meets our guidelines and terms and conditions. All reviews submitted become the licensed property of as written in our terms and conditions. None of your personal details will be passed on to any other third party.

All form fields are required.