Rules of Civility Book

Paperback. Pub Date :2012-01-05 Pages: 352 Language: English Publisher: Hodder Stoughton WHAT THEY SAID about RULES OF CIVILITY: Everything about this novel. set in 1930s New York. is achingly stylish - from the authors name to the slinky jacket design. Katey Kontent. daughter of Russian immigrants. and Evie Ross. from the sleepy midwest. are an ambitious. wisecracking pair who. despite lack of money and connections. aim to set the city alight. A fortuitous meeting with the apparently wealthy Tinker Grey on New Years Eve. 1937. will change the course of both their lives. - Guardian If you want shopping at Bendels. gin martinis at a debutantes mansion and jazz bands playing until 3am. RULES OF CIVILITY has it all and more ... While youre lost in the whirl of silk stockings. furs and hip flasks. all you care about is what Katey Kontent does next. Another one bartender. please....Read More

Visit Cheapest Shop from£5.93 | RRP: £8.99
* Excludes Voucher Code Discount Also available Used from £4.20
  • Play

    WHAT THEY SAID about RULES OF CIVILITY: 'Everything about this novel set in 1930s New York is achingly stylish - from the author's name to the slinky jacket design. Katey Kontent daughter of Russian immigrants and Evie Ross from the sleepy midwest are an ambitious wisecracking pair who despite lack of money and connections aim to set the city alight. A fortuitous meeting with the apparently wealthy Tinker Grey on New Year's Eve 1937 will change the course of both their lives.' - Guardian 'If you want shopping at Bendel's gin martinis at a debutante's mansion and jazz bands playing until 3am RULES OF CIVILITY has it all and more ...While you're lost in the whirl of silk stockings furs and hip flasks all you care about is what Katey Kontent does next. Another one bartender please.' - Observer 'Irresistible ...A cross between Dorothy Parker and Holly Golightly Katey Kontent is a priceless narrator in her own right - the brains of a bluestocking with the legs of a flapper and the mores of Carrie Bradshaw.' - Telegraph 'Towles creates a narrative that sparkles with sentences so beautiful you'll stop and re-read them.A delicious and memorable novel that will leave you wistful ...and desperate for a martini.' - Stylist 'My book of the year. If the unthinkable happened and I could never read another new work of fiction in 2011 I'd simply re-read this sparkling stylish book with yet another round of martinis as dry as the author's wit.' - Herald

  • Blackwell

    For fans of Fitzgerald and Capote, a witty, elegant fairytale of New York, set in 1938. WHAT THEY SAID about RULES OF CIVILITY: 'Everything about this novel, set in 1930s New York, is achingly stylish - from the author's name to the slinky jacket...

  • BookDepository

    Rules of Civility : Paperback : Hodder & Stoughton : 9781444708875 : 1444708872 : 02 Feb 2012 : For fans of F. Scott Fitzgerald and Truman Capote's Breakfast at Tiffany's, this a witty, elegant fairytale of New York, set in 1938.

  • Foyles

    For fans of F. Scott Fitzgerald and Truman Capotes Breakfast at Tiffanys, this a witty, elegant fairytale of New York, set in 1938.

  • 1444708872
  • 9781444708875
  • Amor Towles
  • 5 January 2012
  • Sceptre
  • Paperback (Book)
  • 352

Would you like your name to appear with the review?

We will post your book review within a day or so as long as it meets our guidelines and terms and conditions. All reviews submitted become the licensed property of www.find-book.co.uk as written in our terms and conditions. None of your personal details will be passed on to any other third party.

All form fields are required.